Academic Papers

For lasts weeks blog we were asked to find two academic papers related to IT. We were then asked to answer the questions below for each paper. Sorry I was late on this one Clare I have been tied other with other assignments.

How are we searching the World Wide Web? A comparison of nine search engine transaction logs

Title and author(s) of the article

  • Name: How are we searching the World Wide Web? A comparison of nine search engine transaction logs
  • Author: Bernard J. Jansen, Amanda Spink

APA Reference

  • Jansen, Bernard J., and Amanda Spink. “How are we searching the World Wide Web? A comparison of nine search engine transaction logs.”Information Processing & Management 42.1 (2006): 248-263.

How you found the article and what keywords you used

  • Search Engine: Google Scholar
  • Term used: “Search engines”

What kind of article it is?

  • Journal Paper

Why do I think it is credible?

The reason I believe this paper is credible because on Google Scholar it has been Cited by over 800 people to date. Also because the article has a very large reference list which makes me think they have done thorough research.

How well it fits the ‘structure of an academic article’ that I described in my previous post

I believe this paper meets all of the main components descried.

How many references it has

Roughly 53 references, that could be out by a couple as they are hard to tell where they start and finish in this document.

How many citations it has

  • 802 citations

URL:

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0306457304001396

Say whether you are interested in properly reading the article or not (and give some reasons!)

Yes because I am interested to see how people search the internet.

 

Secure Virtualization Technology  

Title and author(s) of the article

  • Name: Secure Virtualization Technology
  • Author: Farzad Sabahi

APA Reference

How you found the article and what keywords you used

I first started on NMIT databases, then went to ProQuest and search “Cloud Computing Security”.

What kind of article it is?

  • Journal Paper

Why do I think it is credible?

I think this article is credible because of the amount of references listed in it, also because I used ProQuest to find it.

How well it fits the ‘structure of an academic article’ that I described in my previous post

I believe this paper meets all of the main components descried.

How many references it has

  • 14

How many citations it has

  • Two

URL:

http://llcp.nmit.ac.nz:2345/docview/1466801411/abstract/3972EB1103394617PQ/20?accountid=40261

Say whether you are interested in properly reading the article or not?

Yes because I am very interested in Cloud Computing and keep hearing about security concerns but don’t actually know what any of them are!

 

One thought on “Academic Papers

Leave a Reply

